Skip to content

Each of the individuals highlighted below has received one of our prestigious alumni awards. We are inspired by their outstanding professional accomplishments as emerging alumni, or through service to the University, community or country.

If you know someone who is especially deserving of recognition, please nominate them for one of our Homecoming Alumni Awards. Recipients are honored each year during the Alumni Awards & Honor Class Brunch.

Summited nominations will be considered for Homecoming 2023. Questions? Please contact the Alumni Office at [email protected] or 563-425-5388.

2022 Service to University Award


Marcia Andrews

Class of 1973

As co-founder of UIU’s E.Y.E. fraternity, Marcia Andrews helped to establish the group as a freshman in 1969. Over five decades later, she continues to dedicate a tremendous amount of time and effort to keep the legacy of E.Y.E. alive at UIU. Andrews is normally the point person for annual E.Y.E. reunions and leads the effort to celebrate the organization’s other milestone anniversaries. In 2019, she helped reconnect nearly 200 UIU alumni by organizing E.Y.E.’s 50-year reunion. Her dedication to UIU and E.Y.E. is about more than simply sending letters and invitations. For example, when Graff Hall was razed at Fayette Campus, Andrews filled the trunk of her car with bricks to deliver to as many E.Y.E. members as she could so they would always have a piece of UIU with them. At reunions, she organizes elaborate trivia games on the subject of E.Y.E. and UIU women. The end result has been cementing countless lifelong friendships and an endless passion for UIU.

2022 Professional Accomplishment Award


David Stevens

Class of 1977

David Stevens has been a longtime contributor to the information technology industry. Between 1993 and 1997, Stevens served as a University of Iowa adjunct professor of business policy. He has since held key IT leadership roles with nationally and globally recognized companies including Alliant Energy, Hewlett-Packard (formerly EDS), and Fujitsu America, where he currently holds the head position of governance and assurance. Throughout his business career, Stevens has helped transition and transform the IT services and systems of customers including those for NASA, US Military Health System, Navy-Marine Corps, Kraft, and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and Department of Homeland Security.

2022 Service to Community Award


Jon Miller

Class of 1975

While attending UIU, Jon Miller was a founding member of the Acacia fraternity. His dedication to the organization continued long after graduation, assisting with its 45-year reunion, including a corresponding golf event, brunch, tailgate and dinner. Similarly, he has provided a lifetime of service to his local churches, youth programs, and other community organizations and events. A Knights of Columbus member, he has planted Tulips for the Pella Tulip festival, umpired baseball and softball games, coached Little League, organized an AAU girls’ basketball program, organized two Mar-Mac all-school reunions, and volunteers at the local Hospice Comfort House and Principal Charity Classic. In 2011, Miller retired after a long career as a business manager/school board secretary for the Mar-Mac (Marquette/McGregor), Carlisle, Independence and Pella, Iowa, school districts.

2022 Service to Country Award


Dietrich Denali Cerna

Class of 20f11

Dietrich Denali Cerna joined the U.S. Army in December 1993. He attained the rank of sergeant first class and was a leader in multiple facets all through his career in the Army. Cerna retired after over 20 years of honorable military service, which included numerous deployments and oversea tours. He was deployed to Kosovo and Iraq twice in America’s effort to counter terrorism. His oversea tours included Alaska, Germany and Korea. Cerna’s many awards and decorations include the Meritorious Service Medal (2), Commendation Medal (6), Achievement Medal (5), Army Good Conduct Medal (6), National Defense Service Medal (2), Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal, Global War on Terrorism Service Medal, and Kosovo Campaign Medal.

2022 Emerging Alumni Award


Hadeel Osman

Class of 2014

An active student while attending UIU, Hadeel Osman is credited for always been a deeply passionate, motivated and creative individual. As the founder of DAVU Studio, she was most recently listed among the 2020 Forbes Africa 30 Under 30. Osman is a creative director, mentor, stylist and designer who has worked on several projects with clients in Dubai, Kenya, Singapore, Egypt, Zimbabwe and Sudan to enhance their visual branding strategies. Detail-oriented and solutions-driven, she is an advocate for change and development in Sudan and across Africa, and is heavily involved in the pursuit of evolving the local and regional contemporary fashion scene into a fully functioning industry. An ambassador for the Slow Fashion Movement, country coordinator of Fashion Revolution Sudan, and board member of the Union of Concerned Researchers in Fashion, Osman has taken a stand against the negative impacts of industrial fashion practices, while embracing a more holistic and decolonized approach to making, wearing and restoring garments.

Wall of Fame

We honor past recipients of our prestigious alumni awards.

Service to Community Award

NameAwarded YearGraduate Year
Jon Miller20211975
Larry Kaberle20201965
Jason Zilk20191994
Cheryl (Dale) Hand20181971
Daniel Bencivenga20172013
Freddie Northern20161976
Lowell Tiedt20151971
Edie Sieg-Reed20142008
Mike Aschinger20132011
Leota (Morgan) Didier20121943
Brad Mattear20101995
Fred Tully20091963
Lon Butikofer20081983
Jacquelyn (Bowers) McTaggart20071964
Wacinque Amistad Kaizen BeMende20061996
Pamela Whitmore20051965
Scott Lebin20041964
Warren Mitchell20031942, 1976
Richard Smith20021952


Professional Accomplishment Award

NameAwarded YearGraduate Year
David Stevens20211977
Rick McGeough20201968
Bill DeLauro20191978
Kathleen (Kerrigan) Horstmeyer20181966
Marcia Anderson20171972
Veryl Sell20161960
Urmilah Dass20152003
William Daniels20141962
Teri (Vanderheiden) Salmons20121976
Jamie Bunn20121992
Michael Prochaska20101989
Harry Maue20091976
Mark Ebetino20081998
Victor Miller20071969
David Vaudt20061976
Michael Daniels20051978
Derek Mosley20041992
Bill Ites20031988
Kris Hansen20021992


Service to Country Award

NameAwarded YearGraduate Year
Dietrich Denali Cerna20212011
John Welch20202017
Tito Reed20192013
Bob King20181987
Michael Knight20172001
Wacinque Amistad Kaizen BeMende20161996
J.R. Richardson20151981
Robert Betz20141989
Lawson Coapstick20131983
Benjamin Cooper20121998
Angie (Kimball) Joseph20121982


Service to University Award

NameAwarded YearGraduate Year
Marcia Andrews20211973
Jeffrey Stavnes20201976
Pamela Whitmore20191965
LaVerne McCoy20181998
Jann (Schellhammer) Henkes20171978
Becky (Anderegg) Wadian20161972
Sabrina Schmitt20162000
Shankar Thiruchelvam20152003
Raleigh Amyx20131974
Roger Bowen20121955
Foster Cass20111941
Lewis Churbuck20101967
Betty (Follett) Andres20091946
Bob Firth20081989
Jim Day20071967
Bill Prochaska20061963
Bruce Campbell20041969
Cabby Caballero20031956


Emerging Alumni Award

NameAwarded YearGraduate Year
Hadeel Osman20212014
Matthew Beatty20202015
James Ebert20192011
La'Mont Williams20172010
Jeremy Johnson20162008
Dano Grayson20152010
Dave Wenger20142006
Natalie Brown20132005
Narthreza Abdullah20122004
Scott Michels20092003
Ryan Kramer20082001
Matthew Snitkey20072001
Neil Wilkinson20061999
Matthew Cowley20052000
Amy (Peterson) Hayek20042002
* Previously known as Young Alumni Award.


Founder's Day Award

NameAwarded YearGraduate Year
Cabby Caballero19951956
Dick Clark19941953
Louise P. Herring1994
Mary (Moore) Kimball19931956
Lawrence Pande1993
Church Williams1992
Stan Lee19921946
Consuela Washington19911970
Grace Meyer 1991
Bill Andres19901948
Eugene Garbee1990
Bill Hiller19891950
David Bolger1989